Skip to content

Silent Sanctuary

September 14, 2009

I’m a very busy person, thus watching tv is one of my leisure. While I was scanning for channels, I was caught up with a music video from MYX channel. I didn’t know the band because the faces seem so unfamiliar, or its just me who don’t have any time for tv programs.

What pulls my interest was the lyrics of the song. So, I waited for the video to end, for me to know the name of the band and the title of the song. Later, I’ve learned that the band’s name is Silent Sanctuary and the title of the song is Hiling, a single from their album entitled Mistaken For Granted.

With much interest, I surfed the net to gain more info’s about them.  As follows:

 The band formed in 2001, the band had been composed of Norman Dellosa, Paolo Legaspi, Allen Calixto, Anjo Inacay, and Chino David. Later on Sarkie Sarangay took over vocal duties for the band. Jason Rondero, vocalist/bassist of indie band New Modern became the band’s new bassist when Paolo Legaspi left the band after the successful Debut Album called Fuchsiang Pag-ibig.

Silent Sanctuary’s First album Fuchsiang Pag-ibig[1], was released under Universal Records in 2007. They did this with the help of their manager Kerwin Rosete who in the past worked for Parokya ni Edgar, and now the person behind One Big Family Artist Management who also manage other OPM bands like Itchyworms, Ciudad, Soapdish, Overtone, Wandering Dew and Concrete Sam.

Their Second album called Mistaken for Granted[2] was released on March 27, 2009 under Universal Records with Rommel “Sancho’ Sanchez and Buddy Zabala as Producers.

silent-sanctuary

The Band Members:

  • Sarkie Sarangay – lead guitar, lead vocals
  • Chino David – violin, backing vocals
  • Anjo Inacay – cello
  • Allen Calixto – drums
  • Jason Rondero – bass guitar, backing vocals

Source:Wikipedia.com

Its been ages, since the last time I felt this high admiration for some band. I was in highschool by then.

Certainly, this band got some edge from other OPM artist.  First is that violin and cello are some of the instruments they used which I think is cool. Secondly, they can mix humor and drama and make it sound very endearing, cheerful and can be melodramatic, all at the same time.

Thirdly,they’re not the typical band you see, they’ve got spunk, they differ from others and above all they’ve got unique rhythm and lyrics. Its like hearing an 80’s song with a Silent Sanctuary twist.

My Top Five Silent Sanctuary Songs:

5. Sandali Lang – Fuchsiang Pag-ibig

4. The Saddest V.2 – Mistaken For Granted

3.Kundiman – Fuchsiang Pag-ibig

2.Kismet – Fuchsiang Pag-ibig

1.Hiling -Mistaken For Granted

2 Comments leave one →
  1. March 1, 2010 8:50 am

    i love this

  2. Abegael Develos permalink*
    March 2, 2010 1:55 am

    @ ashley..thank you so much for your appreciation on this write up…XD

Leave a comment